New Senate Plan Gives Loudoun Two New Representatives - Leesburg Today Online—Daily News Coverage of Loudoun County, Leesburg, Ashburn: News

March 26, 2015
default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
Not you?||
Logout|My Dashboard

New Senate Plan Gives Loudoun Two New Representatives

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Friday, April 29, 2011 12:43 pm | Updated: 10:29 am, Mon May 2, 2011.

If the new redistricting plan adopted yesterday 32-5 in the Virginia Senate stands, Loudoun could be seeing four new Senators representing its interests, but only two of those representatives would be serving in majority-Loudoun districts.

The revised Senate plan retains the district as previously drawn for Sen. Mark Herring (D-33) and leaves Sen. Jill Holtzman Vogel (R-27) representing a portion of Loudoun. However, a majority of Vogel's district will now be Clarke and Frederick counties—leaving Vogel only with Middleburg, Aldie, and St. Louis precincts west of Rt. 15.

Herring's district, which would be predominantly in Loudoun, would encompass most of the Town of Leesburg, stretch down Rt. 7 to include development on the north side of the road, and then stretch south to include the Rt. 28 corridor, the Rt. 606 corridor, part of Ashburn and Dulles Airport. The 33rd district's southern boundary would be Rt. 50 and would stretch to take in portions of Fairfax County and Herndon.

The only portion of far eastern Loudoun not included in Herring's district would be in the 31st Senate district. That area includes the Potomac Falls, Sugarland North, Sugarland South, Seneca, South Bank and Lowes Island precincts. The 31st District, currently represented by Sen. Mary Margaret Whipple (D), who has announced she will not seek re-election, stretches along Rt. 7 in the northern part of Fairfax County and into Arlington.

The other majority Loudoun district is a new Senate district for the county: the 13th. That district will encompass the north half of western Loudoun, including Lovettsville, Purcellville and Round Hill, take in the remaining portions of Leesburg, all of Ashburn south of Rt. 7 and the entirety of Dulles South, south of Rt. 50 and east of Rt. 15. The district also would stretch down to include the northeast portion of Prince William County.

The new map removes the 22nd District from Loudoun as originally proposed and changes Vogel's district reach into the county.

The Senate was forced to work this week to create a new district map after Gov. Bob McDonnell vetoed the redistricting plan as originally put forward. The House of Delegates also approved a new map, but it made no changes to Loudoun's proposed House seats. Under that plan, Loudoun would see four predominantly Loudoun seats, with Del. Tag Greason's (R) 32nd District the only made up entirely of Loudoun precincts. Loudoun would also have three other representatives whose districts are made up primarily of Fairfax County precincts, including current Del. Tom Rust (R-86) and Del. Jim LeMunyon (R-67).

The General Assembly is on a tight deadline to approve new district maps as they have to be reviewed by the U.S. Department of Justice ahead of the mailing of absentee ballots. With the primaries set for Aug. 23, absentee ballots are expected to be mailed July 8. The Department of Justice needs 60 days for its review.

A map of the proposed districts, and all the previous plans, can be found online at


More about

Welcome to the discussion.